Outstanding North Texas Leaders Receive Immigrant Journey Awards

Immigrant Journey Awards Awarded to Outstanding North Texas Immigrants
Scheef & Stone Spotlights Positive Immigrant Achievements

_33D0728The Immigrant Journey Awards, an awards ceremony aimed at placing a spotlight on immigrant achievements and contributions to North Texas and the nation, held its annual Awards luncheon on Friday June 10, 2016.  Awards were given to recognize this year’s most important contributors from the immigrant community to the civic and economic vitality of North Texas. Proceeds from the event are used to benefit the American Dream Scholarship for immigrant or first-generation American high school seniors in North Texas.

Emmy award-winning journalist Rebecca Aguilar served as the master of ceremonies and kept the crowd of approximately 120 attendees entertained.  Guests included local dignitaries such as the Honorary Consul of the Consulate of Ecuador, Honorable Ricardo Miguel Bowen and a representative from the congressional office of Marc Veasey.  Award finalists also received congratulatory letters from the congressional offices of Eddie Bernice Johnson and Marc Veasey.

Now in its fifth year, the Immigrant Journey Awards program has become a staple event in North Texas shining a light on immigrant citizens who have made positive contributions in their respective fields and communities.  The program, sponsored by Scheef & Stone LLP, was the brainchild of Ann Massey Badmus, Partner at Scheef & Stone.

“Immigrants make important positive contributions in every facet of life, from the business world to the public square,” said Badmus.  “We see these annual awards as a way to celebrate all of those contributions and advocate immigrants throughout North Texas and beyond.”

Award candidate nominations include entrepreneurs, advocates, civic leaders and individuals who have made substantial professional achievements in their field.  Finalists are awarded in the categories of Immigrant Entrepreneur, Immigrant Professional Excellence, Immigrant Spirit and Immigrant Advocate; there is typically more than one award winner in each category.  Of the many nominations received, nine winners were recognized and they represent a broad scope of immigrants living in North Texas communities with roots in countries including Pakistan, Argentina, Iran, India, and Ethiopia.


President of UT Arlington to Present Keynote Address at Immigrant Journey Awards

The Immigrant Journey Awards announces an exciting addition to our program!  Dr. Vistasp M. Karbhari, President of the University of Texas at Arlington will be our keynote speaker at the awards luncheon on June 10, 2016.


A visionary leader and accomplished scholar, Vistasp M. Karbhari [ VISS-tasp like “wasp” CARB- har-ee ] took office in June 2013 as the eighth president of The University of Texas at Arlington. He is a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and the Department of Civil Engineering.

As president, Dr. Karbhari is committed to advancing UT Arlington’s national and international profile while strengthening excellence in research and teaching and ensuring the success of the University’s more than 40,000 students in Texas and around the world.

Prior to joining UT Arlington, President Karbhari  was provost and executive vice president for academic affairs at the University of Alabama in Huntsville from 2008 to 2013. Before that, President Karbhari served as a professor at the University of California, San Diego.

A prolific researcher, President Karbhari is an expert in the processing and mechanics of composites, durability of materials, infrastructure rehabilitation, and multi-threat mitigation. He is a Fellow of several pre-eminent research organizations, including the National Academy of Inventors; ASM International, formerly the American Society for Metals; the International Institute for Fiber-reinforced Polymers in Construction; the International Society for Structural Health Monitoring of Intelligent Infrastructure; and the American Society of Civil Engineers and the ASCE’s Structural Engineering Institute.

Meet Dr. Karbhari and get inspired by the immigrant success stories you will hear at the Immigrant Journey Awards Luncheon on June 10, 2016.

Register now to reserve your spot!