Betty Manetta Announced as Keynote Speaker for the 2017 Immigrant Journey Awards Gala

We are so excited that 2016 immigrant entrepreneur award winner, Betty Manetta, will be our keynote speaker. Betty heads two of the top 10 Hispanic-owned businesses in north Texas. Her companies, Argent Associates and Asociar, generate over $300 million in annual revenues. Don’t miss hearing her inspiring story! Join us on June 16 for the Immigrant Journey Awards Gala.

Betty Manetta 2015 Picture.jpg
Beatriz “Betty” Manetta


Outstanding North Texas Leaders Receive Immigrant Journey Awards

Immigrant Journey Awards Awarded to Outstanding North Texas Immigrants
Scheef & Stone Spotlights Positive Immigrant Achievements

_33D0728The Immigrant Journey Awards, an awards ceremony aimed at placing a spotlight on immigrant achievements and contributions to North Texas and the nation, held its annual Awards luncheon on Friday June 10, 2016.  Awards were given to recognize this year’s most important contributors from the immigrant community to the civic and economic vitality of North Texas. Proceeds from the event are used to benefit the American Dream Scholarship for immigrant or first-generation American high school seniors in North Texas.

Emmy award-winning journalist Rebecca Aguilar served as the master of ceremonies and kept the crowd of approximately 120 attendees entertained.  Guests included local dignitaries such as the Honorary Consul of the Consulate of Ecuador, Honorable Ricardo Miguel Bowen and a representative from the congressional office of Marc Veasey.  Award finalists also received congratulatory letters from the congressional offices of Eddie Bernice Johnson and Marc Veasey.

Now in its fifth year, the Immigrant Journey Awards program has become a staple event in North Texas shining a light on immigrant citizens who have made positive contributions in their respective fields and communities.  The program, sponsored by Scheef & Stone LLP, was the brainchild of Ann Massey Badmus, Partner at Scheef & Stone.

“Immigrants make important positive contributions in every facet of life, from the business world to the public square,” said Badmus.  “We see these annual awards as a way to celebrate all of those contributions and advocate immigrants throughout North Texas and beyond.”

Award candidate nominations include entrepreneurs, advocates, civic leaders and individuals who have made substantial professional achievements in their field.  Finalists are awarded in the categories of Immigrant Entrepreneur, Immigrant Professional Excellence, Immigrant Spirit and Immigrant Advocate; there is typically more than one award winner in each category.  Of the many nominations received, nine winners were recognized and they represent a broad scope of immigrants living in North Texas communities with roots in countries including Pakistan, Argentina, Iran, India, and Ethiopia.


Call for Nominations for 2016 Immigrant Journey Awards

About-Page-Nominate-Now-Button-2013Shining a spotlight on immigrant achievements and contributions in North Texas, Cowles & Thompson, PC and sponsors seek nominations for the 2016 Immigrant Journey Awards.  This awards program celebrate its 5th anniversary by continuing to honor immigrants in four categories:

Immigrant Entrepreneur Award


In recognition of an immigrant business owner who has founded a highly successful business in North Texas and who serves as a model and inspiration of success.
Immigrant Professional Excellence Award  In recognition of an immigrant who has demonstrated significant professional achievements in their field and whose advancements in their field have a positive impact their profession or community.
Immigrant Spirit Award In recognition of  an immigrant civic leader or elected official who has contributed substantially to the community or the region.
Immigrant Advocate Award


In recognition of an individual or organization making positive impact on the lives of immigrants, as an advocate.  Nominee may be an individual, an organization, a business, a governmental or community entity, or a non-profit organization.

The deadline for nominations is 5:00 p.m., Friday, April 15, 2016.